• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

January Goals

Calendar(Source)

For my 2011 year of balance, January is going to be about creating habits. They say it takes 21 days for something to become a habit, so this month will be what starts that for me.

1. Exercise
*100 Day Challenge. Have you heard about John “The Penguin” Bingham’s latest challenge?  100 days in a row of moving at least 30 minutes a day. Originally I was going to make sure I exercised at the gym, took a long walk or completed an exercise DVD for each day. However, being my year of balance, I have decided days I work I will count for the 30 minutes. I stand and walk for 6-8 hours a day, sitting only for breaks, so it is not at all a sedentary time.

*Jeff Galloway’s 10K Program. Continue to follow this, hopefully using the 5K Penguin Run to Benefit Cradle Beach on 30 January in Buffalo for my 3 mile training run (close enough mileage-wise).

2. Food
*Track more days than not. Pretty self-explanatory. I use SparkPeople.

*No soda. I don’t drink it often, anyway, and have been trying to get off artificial sweeteners and do not like the taste or calories of regular.

*Cut back on eating out. We do this way too much.

3. Spirit
*Read Simple Abundance daily and follow its plan.

*Post often on my Spark Challenges to meet new people, find inspiration and, hopefully, inspire others.

4. Other
*Work on genealogy at least 1 day a week.

*Work on budgeting/saving. Eating out less will help with this, as that is the main thing we over-spend money on (we’re not stuff people).

~~~Here we go~~~

One Response

  1. Great goals – good luck and I look forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

