• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

Yoga

Yoga Girl(Source)

Last week I wrote about my trying yoga for stress relief.  I tried the Yoga for Dummies DVD, but couldn’t get into it.  I think it was just too slow and meditative.  Then I learned that Yoga Journal is doing a free 21-day yoga challenge.  It began yesterday, but you can still join in the fun.

Yesterdays video proved I have no balance and need to improve my flexibility.  I only fell over a couple times, though, so I will consider it a win.  Today I did better.  Someday I hope to be able to put my feet all the way down in downward dog pose.  I really like that these yoga sequences move so fast.  I feel I am getting a cardio workout as well as working on strength and flexibility (and balance).

Do you do yoga?  What made you start?  Any tips for us newbies?

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the congrats!

    And Im certainly a yoga newbie as well. I do know I much prefer the flowy styles and poses that focus on stretching over meditation.

Leave a Reply

