• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

The Good, The Bad and The Mucus-y

What a weekend…

The Good

Saturday was my husband’s birthday!  On Friday we went to an art museum and to the symphony and Saturday had dinner with some friends (we also had desert at this awesome new wine and desert bar called Bittersweet).  I had Friday and Saturday off and then ended up having Sunday (and, it appears, today) off due to a water main break.

The Bad

Last week started out as the most mentally exhausting of my adult life and this weekend was physically draining.  I woke up Friday feeling achy, with an awful hacking cough.  This just got worse on Saturday, when I slept through tea with my husband and his parents at my favorite tea house, not getting out of bed until 5pm.

I was hoping to be better by the 5K on Sunday.  I woke up to this:

Cazenovia weather

That’s right: -10 with wind chill.  Combined with the fact that I couldn’t breath easily (when we got home Saturday night, it was so cold and my nose so stuffed up I nearly had a panic attach because I couldn’t breath just walking up the driveway to the apartment), this cold temperature, and the fact I would have been outside for about 45 minutes to an hour (I’m sloooow) meant no first 5K:-(  I read quite a bit on cold weather running, which basically said use the treadmill below 0 or, if you must go outside, wear a lot of clothing that I do not own.  Thank you all so much for your positive comments on my earlier post!  I can’t even begin to tell you how much they meant to me!!!

The Mucus-y

Mucus Man

Time for Mr. Mucus to move along…  Especially since I have my internship and class tomorrow.

Future Plans

Since I was all psyched for my 5K, I am going to do:

Virtual 5K

Slated for Wednesday this week on the treadmill.  Also the First Annual Super Couch Potato 5K on Super Bowl Sunday.

4 Responses

  1. Aww, so sorry you were sick!! But, yes, a negative 10 degree temperature is definitely time to take it inside to the treadmill!! Feel better soon!!

  2. Mucus happens, LOL :P

    Sorry you weren’t well enough for the race, but you can’t do it when you’re sick so best that you rest up and do something else when you feel better! Stay warm and hydrated! :)

  3. Awww . Life happens. Its ok. I don’t even want to work out in my garage when it gets cold here — you know, like under 50 degrees (LOL). Happy Belated Birthday to your husband!

    And I hope you are feeling better.

  4. Hey there! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.

    Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

