• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

Suck it up, Buttercup! Virtual 5K

Suck It Up, Buttercup! Virtual 5K

My first virtual 5K.  Which I did on the last possible day.  Because I am a procrastinator.  BAD.

So I went to the school gym, because it is all cold and icy still in lovely Syracuse.  Well, it definitely was not cold in there.  In fact, I walked in and started sweating, it was so hot.  Got on the treadmill, started my warm-up and started sweating even more.  No fans, no air moving, just me and a bunch of sorority girls (on the elliptical, of course), sweating to the beat of my warming up footsteps.

Then I got off the treadmill and left.  Major fail.  I went less than a half mile.  However, I WAS going to do my 5K, I just needed to figure out how.  After much deliberation, I went home, popped in Leslie Sansone’s 3 mile walk and did that.  So I got in just over 5K, in approximately 50 minutes.

I am not going to count it for one of the 12 races I want to do this year, as I did most of it walking in place in my living room, but I am glad that I know I can go that distance and that I did not quit, which would have been so easy to do.  In the future, I am going to try to beat my procrastinating nature and do these at the beginning of the month/week/whatever, so that if I have a problem, I will have time to fix it…

Leave a Reply

