• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

Super Couch Potato 5K Race Report

I completed my first ever 5K yesterday!

The First Annual Super Couch Potato 5K began at 10:00am on Super Bowl Sunday.  I woke up to pretty good weather.

27*F

We headed to Onondaga Lake Park to pick up my packet, got my number pinned on, winter-ized up and then wandered down to the starting area.  My Garmin wouldn’t turn on, despite my charging it all night.  Not sure what went wrong, but I was disappointed.  I bought it after I finished the C25K program for my first 5K and then couldn’t use it.

At the beginning of the race

I stood at the back of the pack, so that I wasn’t that annoying slow person at the front, and waited for the race to start.  We had about 8″ of snow and sleet the night before, so the track was slushy/snowy/icy, which I have never run in before.  Kind of like sand, only with the worry of slipping.  The first 10 minutes or so of the race were the hardest.  As the pack took off without me and I had to slow to a walk for a bit as I started off too fast, not turning around was the hardest thing ever.  But I kept going.

About a quarter way in to my race, the winners of the 5K came streaming past me (the race was out and back).  I loved the people who told me “good job” and “you can do it” as they were on their way back to the finish.  If you are one of those fast people, please be friendly to those who are slower.  It gave me a renewed energy, a reason to smile and actually seemed to make me speed up.  Thank you to all those racers who did!!!

Finish!

53 minutes and 37 seconds later I finished!  I was not in last place and I beat my hour goal.  Plus, since it was my first ever 5K, I PR’d;-)  I also ran nearly the whole way.  I think I only slowed down to a walk after I started too fast and at the water station that was half-way.  After I finished, I was shocked that my legs couldn’t stop.  They were enjoying the movement, so we headed up to the car.

Bling

I received this nice hat for completing the race.  My goals are to increase my speed (a 5K in under 45 minutes), keep up training for a 4 mile race next month and keep eating healthy to lose some more weight, which I think will also help my speed.  I may join the beginners running program at Fleet Feet for help with the speed part or maybe redo Couch to 5K with faster intervals.

Completing this was was more empowering and confidence building than I could have ever imagined.  As I reached the finish line I knew I could accomplish anything and, that with hard work, I will.

27 Responses

  1. Congratulations!!!! So, are you hooked on races now?!? :) Way to run a race in those conditions!! Amazing job :)

  2. Congrats on your first 5K, very well done!

    What might help you increasing your speed is speed work. You can try to speed up a few times during a run, for example at a pace that goes with a 5K under 45 minutes. Good luck!

  3. Great job on your first 5K! You should be so proud of yourself for running it on icy, slushy pavement. I started off way too fast on my first 5K, too. It’s something I’m still working on in all of my races. It’s really easy to get caught up in the starting line excitement. Congrats again!

  4. Way to go!!! Loved your race report and great job completing your 1st 5K. Looks like you’ve got the racing bug :-)

  5. Congratulations on your first race!! It’s one you’ll most likely remember for a LONG time. Fabulous job in those conditions too, not the best stuff to run in but you went out and beat your goal and were smiling at the finish line. :) Can’t wait to read about the rest of your running experiences!

  6. Congrats! That is awesome! I can’t imagine doing a 5K in those conditions. Way to go!!!

  7. Congrats! I bet you’ll be hooked before you know it!

  8. Congratulations! This is a major accomplishment! And in the snow… I don’t know if I could do that. But your first race ever is such a huge deal. And you nailed it! Great job!

  9. Congratulations!! There’s no way I’d be brave enough to run in that weather!

  10. Congrats! Love the hat — I want one! If you can run a 5k in those conditions your next race will be even more fun.

  11. Congrats on your first 5k! It’s an amazing feeling isn’t it? Super cute hat!

  12. Yay! Congrats on your first 5K!

    I definitely recommend joining a group, if you are thinking about it. I love mine!

    (Visiting from Run for the Bling of It).

    • Thank you! I just joined a fundraising training team for a race here in May. Looking forward to getting to know all of them and have people to run with:-)

  13. Congratulations Amanda, you did an amazing job because I participated in this race and it was freezing, I almost gave up in the first five minutes since I am not used to running in cold and icy weather like that but I managed to finish. Job well done Amanda, I am really impressed with your time.

  14. Beautiful hat. Congrats on your first race and … in icy weather!

Leave a Reply

