• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

Top 5 First 5K Feelings

Completing my first 5K this past weekend I felt… in chronological order…

  1. Terrified.  Imagine standing at the back of a group of runners at your first ever 5K.  You weigh a lot more than most of them.  You’re in sweatpants and a t-shirt amid leggings and cool-max shirts.  You know you won’t be able to keep up and just keep hoping you can complete the 3.1 miles.
  2. Humbled.  I ran an out-and-back race.  I went approximately .75 miles and the winners (who ran the whole race in just over 16 minutes) pass me on their way to the finish.  As I near the half-way point, pretty much the whole group of racers pass.  Ugh.  Humbling is putting it mildly.
  3. Empowered.  As I got to the 2 mile mark, I knew I was going to finish this thing.  I started smiling.  I kept thinking how amazing it was that I could finish this.  3.1 miles is pretty far and I was going to run the whole thing.  Go me!  I rock!
  4. Confident.  I DID it!  If I can do this, I can do anything!  With hard work, positive thinking and determination I can reach all my goals.
  5. Ambitious.  I made it to the end, faster than I had hoped and not in last place, but I want more.  I want to run a 45 minute 5K and, someday, one in under 30 minutes.  I want to run a 10K, a half marathon, a marathon.  I want to lose weight so that I will speed up and be able to wear cute running skirts.  I even signed up for a 4-miler next month.
One Response

  1. Love this recap – it captures how I felt after my 1st race too! In fact – how I feel after many of my races.

Leave a Reply

