• Welcome!


    I'm Amanda, 29, living in Syracuse, NY. A grad student, barista, traveler who is trying to achieve health and balance in 2011. Thanks for being a part of my journey. Contact me at Amanda [at] amandasathenaeum [dot] com.
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Fitness Training Log
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

Mountain Goat Run Training

I have obviously gone insane.  I am training for the Mountain Goat 10 mile run with Team Believe.  Raising money for the parents of children in Crouse Hospital’s NICU to pay for parking and food, if they can’t afford it.

I’m not worried about the 10 miles.  I’m not even worried about the hills or how last year it was 94 * and people were dropping like flies.  I am worried about the 2 hour and 10 minute course time.  13 minute miles.  For 10 miles.  I have been getting faster through speed work.  15 minute miles are now normal with 10 minute miles intervals.  I kick butt on downhills and can go 7.5 mph for the whole trip down.  So that should help balance out my mad slow uphills.

Training begins this week.  Did 3 miles last night.  Doing 3 miles today.  5.75 miles Friday, Saturday or Sunday, depending on what’s happening in Buffalo (I’m visiting my mom).  Hill repeats tomorrow.  Lots of hill repeats for the next few weeks.

I know I can… I know I can… I know I can…  It’s for such an important cause and completing the race, even if I’m too slow and my time doesn’t count, will be such a confidence builder.  Thinking Providence Half Marathon training next…

2 Responses

  1. You can totally do it!!!! Just train on hills and you will golden!! :) My marathon has a 6 hour cut off that I am nervous about so I totally feel you!! You will do awesome!! :)

  2. Hello. You won the giveaway for the movie tickets. Please contact me a cheinle@cox dot net and I’ll send you the contact information to get your tickets.

Leave a Reply

